Day 1 (Part Deaux): Day 1 of BWLW Challenge

So I wanted to separate my day one post because I actually decided to create this blog because I’m starting a challenge today. I want to see if I can maintain updating this blog and using it as my journal daily as I complete this challenge and going forward. For this challenge I believe I have to write down something everyday as well as record my steps.  So what I said in the previous post and this challenge is why I’m here. My previous post was an introduction and this is day one of my challenge, June 1st, 2017.

The challenge that I am partaking in is with a FB page and blog that I absolutely love called Black Women Losing Weight. I’ve been following their page for a while and I love seeing the different stories of ladies losing weight. Those most let’s me know that I am not alone in this weight loss struggle and healthy lifestyle change and it let’s me know that it can be done. I thought to not participate in the challenge but changed my mind once I started seeing people posting their steps for the day. The challenge is a steps challenge and I am here for it! If you would like to participate in this challenge, you can click here.

I wasn’t active earlier in the day but I was in the evening when I took my brothers dog for as walk. I got in the following steps.

I have the following questions that I need to answer for this challenge :

1) Weight Loss and Wellness Goals – What are your top 3 goals? Write them down in your journal. Consider whether they are S.M.A.R.T goals? 

Step Goal: 3000 to 6000

(S.M.A.R.T. = Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, and Time-bound)

____________________________________________

Answer:

My top 3 goals are: Get to a healthy weight range by losing eventually 125 lbs (since I am at about 300 lbs at 5’10”), eat healthier, and tone up by gaining lean muscle. I think that the weight loss goal is attainable but will take over a year. However for this challenge I will set a goal of 5 lbs. I could maybe go 8 lbs but 5 lbs is more doable, especially at the state of mind I’m at and the lack of motivation I have. I have to get my eating together.  That is definitely going to be the hardest part. Toning can be achieved but probably not during this challenge.  It’s something that can be reached along with my overall goal but will be hard for me since I dislike doing strength training. It’s something I have to do though since I have 125 lbs to lose. I do not want any hanging skin! I have already unfortunately developed stretch marks on my arms and stomach over the last 9 months.

Steps Achieved:  5,545 steps

Author:

Depending on which blog of mine you are reading, it will be way for me to spill my thoughts and trying to refocus my life. The themes here becoming focused in life, following through, black women, black men, black lives, black culture, racism, social justice, black arts, music, black film, black plays, better health, weight loss, fibroid tumors, career, first times, traveling, accomplishments, dating, personal goals, mental health, conquering fears and figuring out this thing called life.

Leave a Reply

